March 16th, 2021 Important COVID-19 Update for Residency: Governor Cuomo's Executive Order (GEO 202.11) entered on March 7th, 2020, and extended by EO 202.96, suspended the 30 day deadline to obtain a Certificate of Residence. This Executive Order is set to expire March 28th, 2021. Therefore, after March 28th, 2021, a student will be unable to retroactively obtain a Certificate of Residence for a prior semester to receive the Resident Tuition Rate. All students will be required to obtain their Certificates in order to qualify for the Resident Tuition Rate under the NYS Education Law guidelines set forth below [no earlier than 60 days prior to start of classes and no later than 30 days after start of classes].
While many offices are closed to the public for in-person appointments, you can still obtain your Certificate of Residence. Contact your county to see what their accommodations are (email, mail-in, drop boxes etc).
New York State Residency Requirements
DEADLINES TO COMPLETE RESIDENCY FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGE IS NO LATER THAN 30 DAYS AFTER THE START OF CLASSES. THIS DEADLINE IS IMPOSED BY THE COUNTIES AND ENFORCED UNDER EDUCATION LAW SECTIONS 6301 AND 6305. WHILE THE COLLEGE WILL ACCEPT LATE CERTIFICATES, THE COUNTY HAS THE RIGHT TO DENY GIVING A STUDENT ONE DUE TO LATE APPLICATION. FAILURE TO MEET THIS DEADLINE WILL RESULT IN THE STUDENT BEING CHARGED, AND RESPONSIBLE FOR, THE OUT OF STATE TUITION RATE.
AT NCCC WE INITIALLY CHARGE THE STUDENT THE TUITION RATE ASSOCIATED WITH THE CURRENT ADDRESS ON FILE. IF YOU HAVE NOT LIVED IN NYS FOR A FULL 12 MONTHS PRIOR TO CLASSES YOU MUST INFORM THE BUSINESS OFFICE; YOU WILL THEN BE CONSIDERED AN OUT OF STATE STUDENT FOR TUITION PURPOSES.
THE COUNTIES WILL ISSUE A CERTIFICATE FOR THE 6 MONTHS PRIOR TO CLASSES; IF YOU HAVE LIVED IN MORE THAN ONE COUNTY THE 6 MONTHS PRECEEDING THE TERM, YOU MUST OBTAIN A PARTIAL CERTIFICATE FROM EACH COUNTY. EVERY COUNTY WILL REQUIRE PROOF/DOCUMENTATION THAT SHOWS YOUR NAME, PHYSICAL ADDRESS (PO BOX NOT ACCEPTED) AND DATE THAT PROVES AT LEAST 12 MONTHS IN THE STATE AND UP TO 6 MONTHS IN THEIR COUNTY.
NYS Community Colleges receive a portion of their funding from the county they reside in and therefore all students are required to prove their residence in New York State for a minimum of one year and residence in their home county for six months prior to the start of classes.
Student residency status determines the tuition rate they will be charged. To determine your residency please read the following:
Essex and Franklin County Residents: A resident of the State of New York for one year, and of the County of Essex or Franklin for six months immediately prior to registration. Students can verify Frankin/Essex County residency directly with the Business Office with our NEW ONLINE FORM HERE
New York State Resident of another County: A resident of the State of New York for one year and of a county other than Essex or Franklin for six months immediately prior to registration who can present a Certificate of Residence from that county. PLEASE FIND YOUR COUNTY APPLICATION BELOW TO COMPLETE. USE THE GENERIC ONLY IF YOUR COUNTY IS NOT LISTED. FOLLOW THESE BASIC INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY HERE --> INSTRUCTIONS
Non-Resident Student: A student who does not fulfill either of the two statements above is a non-resident student and pays Non-Resident tuition.
To qualify for the resident tuition fee, a student is required by law to present once each academic year, on or before registration, a Certificate of Residence indicating that they have been a legal resident of the State of New York for one year and of the county in which he or she resides for six months. Failure to present a Certificate of Residence will result in Non-Resident tuition charges.
Non-Resident students are exempt from presenting a certificate.
It is the responsibility of the student to confirm their residency with the Business Office and turn in the Certificate they receive from their County Treasurer. Those students required to obtain a Certificate of Residence from their home county or counties must do so each year. Those students who reside in Franklin or Essex County as permanent residents must complete their Residency with the NCCC Business Office every year. Read the instructions carefully to not miss the deadlines for each term. If you have questions on the Certificate of Residence or residency requirements contact the Business Office.
FIND YOUR COUNTY BELOW AND FOLLOW THE LINKS FOR THE APPLICATION AND WEBSITE FOR EACH COUNTY. If your county is not listed you can use the generic application at the bottom.
We suggest contacting your county to verify the documents you are sending as proof to prevent your application being sent back.
**COUNTY CONTACTS MAILING LIST click here
Ontario County App - website currently unavailable
*Use the County Contacts Mailing List above for mailing information for your Residency Applications and Documents.